The Sainte Genevieve Plein Air Painting Event takes place each autumn.  In 2013, Awards totaled $3,000, and sales of artwork topped $1,800.  

For 2014, the event will begin Friday September 26th, with registration between 8am and 4pm at 109 N. Main daily through September 30th, with work turned by 4pm Wednesday, October 1st.  The awards reception will be Thursday, October 2nd from 6:30-9 p.m. at the gallery at 109 N. Main, and is begun with the People's Choice vote.   The Plein Air Art Show and Sale begins with the reception and runs through Sunday October 5.  Unsold artwork should be picked up at 4pm on October 5th.

Contemporary painters will find the same French colonial buildings, Victorian commercial structures, and extensive gardens in the downtown historic district that intrigued the artists who founded the Sainte Genevieve Art Colony some 80 years ago.  The ragged Mississippi shoreline, midwestern farms, and remnants of old building sites still appeal.  Seven picturesque wineries, Hawn State Park, Pickle Springs Nature Preserve, and other conservation areas are easily accessible by car.

Among the highlights:
• Multiple paint outs & competitions
• Generous Prizes
• Social Events
• Art Show & Sale 


Best of Show - Oil/Acrylics:  Marty Coulter
Best of Show - Watercolor/Pastel/Charcoal:  Juanita Wyman

First Place - Oil/Acrylics:  Allen Kriegshauser

First Place - Watercolor/Pastel/Charcoal:  Juanita Wyman

Second Place - Oil/Acrylics:  Mike McClure

Second Place - Watercolor/Pastel/Charcoal:  James W Wooldridge J


People's Choice:  Derek Gollaher

Purchase Award - 4th Friday Night Paintout:  Marty Coulter
Purchase Award - Ste. Genevieve Gardens Paintout:  Julie Wiegand

Purchase Award - Wineries Paintout:  Marty Coulter

Registration:  Registration fee is $35 for the entire event.     Canvases and/or art paper must be stamped at the registration desk prior to painting in order to be eligible for prizes.  Registration begins Friday, September 27th at 109 N. Main and continues daily 8am to 4pm through October 1st.  You may paint as many or as few days as you wish.  

Judging and DisplayEntrants are to select their three best works for the judging, and turn them in no later than 5pm on Wednesday, October 2nd.  Paintings must be in a gallery-quality frame with wire hangar, unless the canvas has wrap-around sides which are an integral part of the painting.  An identifying card must be filled out and attached to the back of each painting to include artist name, contact information, media and picture title.   Paintings to be judged should be signed on the back only.  Purchase awards are judged by the purchaser or as indicated.  All purchase awards are also eligible for cash awards.  Best of Show, First Place, Second Place are judged by our panel of three qualified judges. 

Awards for 2013:

Purchase Awards:  
    Friday:  Night Paintout of Art Walk Scenes     $250
    Saturday:  Gardens of Ste. Genevieve                 $250
    Sunday:  Wineries Paintout                                       $250
Cash Awards: 
Best of Show Oil/Acrylic                                                   $500
Best of Show Watercolor/Pastel/Charcoal           $500
First Place Oil/Acrylic                                                        $300
First Place Watercolor/Pastel/Charcoal                $300 
Second Place Oil/Acrylic                                                  $200
Second Place Watercolor/Pastel/Charcoal          $200 

People's Choice (popular vote)                                    $250 

Show and Sale:   Artists are encouraged to sell their works during the competition.  After the show is hung  and judged on Thursday, October 3rd, it will remain hanging for the following weekend 10am to 5pm Friday and Saturday, and 10am to 4pm Sunday.   Sales made from the Show and Sale incur a 30% commission.  Please price works accordingly.

Liability and Insurance:  While precautions will be taken to safeguard artwork and participants, we accept no liability for the loss of or damage to:  artwork in transit, in storage or on display, or for any personal injury incurred during participation in this event.  Artists are strongly encouraged to insure their own person and artwork.

To receive email updates, send a message to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . 

The Sainte Genevieve Plein Air Painting Event is an annual enterprise sponsored by the Ste. Genevieve Downtown Renewal Project, a 501(c)3 organization.